new plants

rosemary

Spring has definitely sprung around here, and I’m busy, of course, redecorating and planting new plants. I decided to upgrade our mismash of small unmatching pots to new big matching pots, courtesy of IKEA for $5.99 each. Joy.

new pots

the new pots – they still need saucers

I’ve also decided to focus all of my outdoor gardening on growing edibles, because hey, if I’m going to go through all the trouble of keeping plants alive I may as well get something out of it, right? Right now we have:

  • mint
  • rosemary
  • two kinds of thyme
  • oregano
  • sage
  • italian parsley
  • chives

Pretty impressive for not actually having a yard, right? I’m hoping to add:

  • a second pot of mint (I like to have a lot on hand for making drinks)
  • basil
  • possibly tomatoes?
  • any suggestions?

old pots

the old pots

Redecorating pictures to come soon. Possibly tomorrow. Nothing major, but some good updates that are keeping me occupied and busy.

5 thoughts on “new plants

  1. Nice pots! What about some dill or fennel? (I´m not really sure whether you can plant these in the pots.)
    It´s a good idea to plant the herbs in the pots, as you have the plant under control. We have a garden, so we don´t have to do it, but it certainly has some advantages!

  2. hey, we’re trying to make our backyard edible too! how about one of those strawberry pots filled with strawberries? i think they fit a surprising number of plants. and i’d definitely vote for a cherry tomato plant too.

  3. I always like to throw a few flowers into the mix. Marigolds naturally keep insects at bay. They’re often used to border organic gardens.

  4. anyone need some mint? « A Browner Brown

Leave a Reply

