I grew something!

T’s mom gave me an amaryllis bulb (in a box) back in December. It’s finally bloomed (yay!) and I have to say, this was a great gift. Way more fun than flowers, because I’ve been able to watch it grow and now finally bloom. These things grown incredibly fast, by the way, so it would be a fun project to do with kids, because you can litterally measure the difference in height from day to day. Mine came from Jackson and Perkins. They seem to only be carrying pink ones right now, but if you’re thinking about sending anyone flowers soon, I would suggest an amaryllis instead.

amaryllis1

amaryllis2

The instructions that came with my amaryllis say that when “the blooms have faded” to cut the stalk down an inch above the base and that it will then rebloom next year.

Also notice my janky wooden spoon stake. Because that’s how I do it.

2 thoughts on “I grew something!

Leave a Reply

