Miranda July

I developed the biggest girl crush on Miranda July in the five minutes it took me to go through her new website for her new book, No One Belongs Here More Than You. I’ve known about her for a while, somewhere in the back of my head, but there’s a lot of stuff in the back of my head and she apparently got lost in there. But sometimes I see something that I like so much that it makes my chest hurt a little, and this is one of them. Partially because of the title, because I’m a sucker for a good title, and am truly awful at coming up with them. Also – the website? So mad I didn’t think of that, because if I had, I think I could be really satisfied with my life. Also –

miranda july

How much do you want to be her best friend?
Also – I’m walking down to Blockbuster to see if they have Me and You and Everyone We Know right now, and if they don’t, I’m going to buy it. And the last movie I remember buying was Varsity Blues. In 1999.

Also – even though my former thesis adviser just told me on Monday that I need to take a 10 month break from reading authors who are not-yet-dead, I’m so buying this book and reading it as soon as it comes out. Sorry. I promise I’ll go back to Dickens and Wharton and Flannery O’Connor right after.

ps. Thanks to Hoping for Happy Accidents for linking to No One Belongs Here More Than You today.

 

2 thoughts on “Miranda July

  1. I love her! And even though she’s skinny and gorgeous, there’s a sense of humility about her that makes me feel good about who I am. ‘Me and You and Everyone We Know’ is an excellent movie, enjoy!
    cheers

Leave a Reply

