new desk set up

Yesterday I finally got my dining room “office” set up.

desk3

I don’t like having a desk in my bedroom, and our second bedroom is taken over by T.’s crazy office set up/doubles as a guest room when needed, and I wanted somewhere I could not only do “desk” things but also sew, so I decided to set up in the dining room, the least used room in our house (when you don’t have one for three years you get pretty used to eating on the couch.)

leaf out

It’s little and in the corner, which still allows us to have a table and six chairs. My favorite thing about this awesome 1939 enamel topped table (Craigslist find) is that it has two leaves (one is shown pulled out above, there is an identical one on the other side,) which means I can extend it when I want more space to sew, or we want to use it for extra seating for dinner parties. I’ll probably strip and repaint the wooden base at some point, but for now it’s fine.

chair

The chair is another Craigslist find, also vintage and very comfortable. I really love the color of the fabric (which is in perfect condition) it’s upholstered in.

desk close up

On the desk (right to left) – my Marfa Book Co. mug/pen holder, Jen Corace’s Seafoam Paper Boats, Matte Stevens’ birdie gocco print, a vintage botanical print, Marek Colek’s Czert and Katja (which was slightly burned when it fell on a lit candle but I just can’t bear to get rid of) and a vintage type drawer. Framed above the plant (see top photo) is Ryan McLellan’s trophy. (I obviously heart Tinyshowcase.)

3 thoughts on “new desk set up

  1. Having a new office is a thrill. I am also designing my home office right now after many years without one. So I know the feeling.

    In my business office, our boardroom chairs are the same vintage model. Ours still have the original dry Dijon mustard leather with a fabric seat. We only updated the casters. I like them.

  2. Definitely imagine that that you said. Your favourite
    reason appeared to be at the web the simplest factor to take note of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same time as folks consider concerns that they just
    do not understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlned out the
    whole thing without having side-effects , folks could
    take a signal. Will robably be again to get more.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

