P is for . . . (2)

Paint-your-own Pottery

One of my favorite “fun things” to do is go to the local paint-your-own-pottery place. It’s a great amount of creativity for me – not too much pressure, too much work, but a lot of fun.

Here are some of the pieces around the house that I’ve done, as you can see, I like trays. They’re sprinkled around, and hold keys, jewelry, and miscellaneous items that collect in high traffic areas (I emptied everything out to take photos.)

as always, click on photos if you want to see them larger.

giraffe

elephants

birds

chicken and elephant

chicken and elephant back

painting the back is half the fun

coasters

coasters (well, small plates we use as coasters)

deer box

lidded box – top and inside

Sometimes I can convince T. to get in on the action too. He says he doesn’t like it but I secretly think he’s lying. Here are some of the things he’s done:

darwin bowl

Darwin and the monkey ramekin

octopus bowl

octopus bowl inside

flying octopus bowl

5 thoughts on “P is for . . . (2)

  1. You guys rock! That’s some beautiful pottery.

    I just found your blog (through NaBloPoMo). I’ll be back a little later, when I have more time, to look through all your gorgeous pictures. You have really inspired me to get off my lazy bum and finish decorating and organizing parts of my house that I’d given up on.

  2. Good gravy! That pottery is ultra-charming and inspiring. I love to draw and paint but somehow have never considered busting a move on some paint-your-own goo-gaws. That is glorious.

    Like Katie above, I found your blog via the NaBloPoMo blogroll and I will be back, too. I thought the name of your blog was appealing. So glad to see that the contents are as well!

    My signature takes you to my wordpress blog, but I’m NaBloPoMo-ing on a Blogger blog which is:

    http://gallivantingmonkey.blogspot.com

    should you wish to look and see.

    My husband and I are building a house at the moment – it’s nearing completion – so it’ll be fun to peruse your blog for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

