hallway redux

So, remember the failed silver hallway? Last week I finally got around to re-painting it. I based my color scheme off of this amazing vintage fabric I picked up a few months ago at the Alameda Flea Market (5 yards for $20) that I used to recover a chair I found the same day (best deal ever – only $1.) So since our foyer is red, the hallway became pink. And I love it. Pink is really one of the happiest colors, in my opinion. And I think it looks great against the red.

whole hallway

hallway

chair corner

fabric

Most of our red or red-ish artwork has now ended up in here, although right now is propped on top of the bookcase wating for frames and rearranging.

art

I also really like how the pink plays off the rooms it leads into, the mustardy bedroom and the blue bathroom. T’s office is also off of this hallway, and is currently renter’s-white, but he just agreed to let me paint it, so get excited for that.

colors

The color was custom mixed into a gallon of white paint I already had but didn’t like, but it’s an approximated Benjamin Moore color. I can’t find the paint chip right now, but will get it in the next few days and add the information here.

9 thoughts on “hallway redux

  1. Yes, indeed, red looks great with pink! This looks fabulous and the hallway color is delicious.

    So are you thinking green, orange, or a neutral for the office?

    Also, what are you going to do with the remainder of the fabric? Perhaps you can mat one of prints with it?

    Sjo

  2. Fantastic! I never really considered putting red & pink together – though I love both colours…I thought they might be to ‘similar’. But you’ve proved me wrong! Bravo.

    And kudos on the shelf – the glossy white is the perfect accent – nice, light and airy for that space.

  3. Just wanted to let you know that we used the benjamin moore copper metallic glaze over a custom color copper paint and after encountering the (impossible to mask) roller marks we decided to try the color wash technique with a sea sponge and we are happy with that–no roller marks! And we like the swirls from the color washing. My husband wanted me to give up and this was the last try. Great success! I don’t know why the Ace guy insisted that the roller was the way to go.

  4. I really like the way you have put red and pink together.

    Finding a fabric with those two colours and using it at the place the two colours meet is a great idea and a good tip for anyone trying to make two different colour rooms or walls look good together.

  5. HI-I’M TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO PAINT OVER A METALLIC FINISH. CAN YOU TELL ME HOW YOU DID THAT? MY WALLS ARE TEXTURED & THE BASE COAT WAS A FLAT/MATTE FINISH WITH GOLD METALLIC OVER THE TOP. IT DID NOT TURN OUT HOW THE IMAGE WAS IN MY HEAD! I THOUGHT ABOUT TRYING TO SAND OFF SOME OF THE GOLD TO LET MORE BASE COAT SHOW THROUGH, BUT IT SEEMS LIKE THE EASIER OPTION MAY BE TO JUST RE-PAINT. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

