new chair

a hastily taken photo of the new chair I bought yesterday off of Craigslist. I had our vintage fake-Eames lounge here before, but the whole living room was getting a little too MCM for me. The orange chair on the right is my favorite piece of furniture in the house, and I like the way the colors go together and play off of the blue wall (painting is *almost* done.)

I’m not completely set on this paring, but it’s growing on me more and more. I also haven’t gotten around to re-hanging any art yet, so that will change things a little. For reference, here’s the same corner with the Eames. I love our (fake) Eames, but I think it’s just a little too predictable with the other chair. Opinions?

This is the only photo I can find right now of the way this corner used to look – I can’t stand those IKEA chairs in this space now and am so glad they’re gone

10 thoughts on “new chair

  1. hey, i have a pair of the “orange” chair that you have in your home, in my home. does yours have bungy type ropes supporting the cushions? also, they are made by a designer/company with the initials “fd” in a enamel black circle on the seat if I lift the cushion. does yours have that?

  2. thanks for the validation everyone, I totally agree. In fact, as I’ve been sitting on the couch looking at the new chair for a few days I’ve come to totally love it. Now I just have to figure out where to put the Eames (possibly the basement.)

Leave a Reply

