beach house update III

This project has officially taken over my life. Luckily, the end is actually finally in sight. (although I’ve thought this before and been proven wrong.) T. and I are down here right now and will actually finish painting the inside of the house this weekend (this is attempt #3 for this particular project.) Then we’re back next weekend to install more light fixtures, hang another medicine cabinet, paint a new headboard, sand and paint bedside tables, do some yard work, hang more art, sew a million throw pillows . . . OK, there’s still a lot to do, but at this point most of it is the fun stuff.

This* has turned out to be a giant job, much bigger than I realized when I started, and while I do feel like it’s taken over my life lately at the same time I’m really thrilled to be doing it. I moved around a lot as a kid (when I started high school it was my fourth school in four years) and this house has really been one of the biggest constants in my life, and is in many ways the place where I feel the most at home. It’s nice to be giving it some love and attention after everything it’s given me over the years.

Oh, and that shot on top is of the new kitchen wall color – Benjamin Moore’s Wales Green, #2028-50. I momentarily panicked after I put the first coat on, because it seemed really bright, but am actually pretty happy with the way it’s turned out.

*For those of you who don’t know what’s going on (because I’m not sure I’ve ever actually explained it here) for the last six months we’ve been redecorating/working on my family’s house in West Marin county. It’s been in the family longer than I have, and we’re going to start renting it out this year for the first time ever, so have been doing some updating as well as needed maintenance.
Leave a Reply

