Monday book: I Was Told There’d Be Cake

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

I wish I’d written this book. I wish there was another way to say that it’s funny and smart and doesn’t take itself too seriously, because I’m sure a million people have said those words about this book, but they’re true. During my two and a half years as an English/Creative Writing major I mainly wrote and studied personal essays, so am pretty familiar with the form, and while a few of the essays in this book read a little like MFA assignments (even though I know they’re not,) in general it’s a really excellent example of the genre.

Sloane Crosley somehow manages to reveal the worst parts of herself and still make you wish she was your best friend. Go read it.

One thought on “Monday book: I Was Told There’d Be Cake

  1. Thanks for the suggestion! I just read the excerpt on Amazon and I think I’m going to order it right now:) I’ve been looking for something new to read.

Leave a Reply

