screen printing goodness

Last night I “taught” a screen printing session at my bff Claire’s LDS Singles Ward’s FHE night*. It was a blast.

I was a little bit worried, since Claire passed me off as a “guest expert” and the truth was it had been a few years since the last time I screen printed this way, but hey I went to art school and this is what we would do for fun/when procrastinating on our homework – let’s just say I’ve made my fair share of t-shirts. It turns out screen printing is like riding a bike – once I got started it all came rushing back (and we did a test run or two in the afternoon.)

amazing softball team shirts were made

This is a great party/family reunion/group activity idea. Claire and I made three screens ahead of time and then a fourth there to demonstrate the process for people who wanted to go home and make their own. We used the drawing fluid/screen filler method, which requires no equipment beyond a kitchen sink and a silkscreen (either store bought or homemade.) Then we set everyone loose with the finished screens, squeegees, and six colors of ink. Claire had told everyone ahead of time to bring their own t-shirts or other materials to print on.

Claire’s little brother Will, who I roped into being my assistant all night and really rocked at the t-shirt making

the two shirts I made

Thanks Claire for organizing this, and thanks Berkeley Singles Ward for having me!

*for those of you unfamiliar with Mormon culture think church group activity night. And no, if you’re wondering, I myself am not Mormon.

2 thoughts on “screen printing goodness

Leave a comment